For Terence and Others of a Darker Hue

How long Lord? How long?

What needs to be done so that people of different skin colors can look at each other in the eye and see character or the lack thereof?

When I saw the video of Terence Crutcher my heart broke to see him with his hands in the air, moving slowing and it still was not enough to save his life.

The comments made by the police that he looked like a bad dude were horrible.

Assumptions are spoken very easily by “racist” all-knowing white people. In fact, they are mumbled, casually placed in conversation, stated as factual and screamed with hate by those of „other races“ toward black people simply because they believe it to be true.

I have wondered how people can work so hard to denigrate a group of people just to make themselves feel superior.

(Why have they have chosen to not know that Black Lives Matter?)

Quite frankly, I do not understand this. And I never will.

To behave in this way speaks a message of self-hatred loud and clear into the world.

It says: “I have no idea how to let love be expressed through my being. To hide what I cannot do, I will draw attention away from myself by belittling you. “

This never works.

We see what you are.

A person who needs to hurt someone in order to feel something akin to goodness within themselves.

The only way to feel goodness is to be good.

Goodness comes from the inside and is expressed outwardly.

Shooting people of color, because of your own prejudiced judgment, disqualifies you from having any virtue that anyone could consider in any way to be unassailably moral.

It says that you are bad and you do not know a damn thing about love.

It says that you are in fact evil and perhaps unbeknownst to you, you have chosen to serve the Devil.

Hillary Clinton posted this on Facebook:

 Another unarmed black man was shot in a police incident. How many times do we have to see this in our country? This is just unbearable, and it needs to be intolerable. And so maybe I can, by speaking directly to white people, say, look, this is not who we are. We’ve got to do everything possible to improve policing, to go right at implicit bias. There are good, honorable, cool-headed police officers. We have seen them in action in New York over the last 48 hours because of the terrorist attacks. We can do better. We have got to rein in what is absolutely inexplicable. And we have got to have law enforcement respect communities and communities respect law enforcement because they have to work together.

There is not a place in any Police Department for a racist or any other person who allows fear to decide their actions. In fact, the Police are required to adhere to a Code of Ethics.

Law Enforcement Code of Ethics

“Whenever men unite to form a community, a nation, a religious body or a profession, they set down in writing those fundamental principles which will best guide them in their common effort. Examples of such written codes of personal and organizational conduct are the Ten Commandments, the U.S. Constitution, the state criminal codes and the Law Enforcement Code of ethics. These documents are important not only for the guidance they offer but also a standard against which we measure our work and attitude.”

International Association of Chiefs of Police

As a Law Enforcement Officer, my fundamental duty is to serve mankind; to safeguard lives and property; to protect the innocent against deception, the weak against oppression or intimidation, and the peaceful against violence or disorder; and to respect the Constitutional rights of all men to liberty, equality and justice.

I will keep my private life unsullied as an example to all; maintain courageous calm in the face of danger, scorn, or ridicule; develop self-restraint; and be constantly mindful of the welfare of others. Honest in thought and deed in both my personal and official life, I will be exemplary in obeying the laws of the land and the regulations of my department. Whatever I see or hear of a confidential nature or that is confided in me in my official capacity will be kept ever secret unless revelation is necessary in the performance of my duty.

I will never act officiously or permit personal feelings, prejudices, animosities or friendships to influence my decisions. With no compromise for crime and with relentless prosecution of criminals, I will enforce the law courteously and appropriately without fear or favor, malice or ill will, never employing unnecessary force or violence and never accepting gratuities.

I recognize the badge of my office as a symbol of public faith, and I will accept it as a public trust to be held so long as I am true to the ethics of the police service. I will constantly strive to achieve these objectives and ideals, dedicating myself before God to my chosen profession; Law Enforcement.

Drafted and Adopted in 1957

 

To the Women and Men who strive to keep this Code as your own – thank you for being honorable to yourselves, your fellow Law Enforcement Officers and to the Public that you protect.

I urge you to be courageously bold in not keeping the “Blue Wall of Silence” in unity with those officers who are not honorable to themselves, to you, their fellow Law Enforcement Officers and to the Public.

Please protect us from them.

A corrupt police officer should not be dictating to the just how policing should be done.

Anyone using the power of the badge in this way is a criminal.

You know who they are. The ones flouting their violence and their use of unnecessary force with glee. Their acts go unreported and when they are held accountable too many escape serious punishment.

There shall be “no compromise for crime and a relentless prosecution of criminals”. – The Law Enforcement’s Code of Ethics.

How many victims will it take before this scourge of corrupt police officers are removed forever from the force?

What types of background checks, psychological evaluations and other checks for moral character need to be done in order to insure no unethical candidate is even considered for admission to a Police Academy or hired by a Police Department?

Speak-up and reform your departments.

The blood of all victims of police violence demands this.

The families of those left behind pleads for vindication.

The blood of Terence Crutcher that ran from his dying body cries out for justice.

Restore our faith in you our “true” police officers who have earned the right to wear the badge. Show us that you are an embodiment of the character necessary for you to be a good officer of the law.

When I was a child members of the Police Department came to visit my grammar school. I remember the explanation given to us by “Officer Friendly “instructing us as to who and what the Police were. We were told that we could come to them if we needed help. That they were our friend and helper. I accepted what they said because I had no experience to prove them otherwise. This belief was natural to the child that I was over 40 years ago. My innocence was sheltered in a way that few children of darker skin hues growing up today are privileged to know.

I am coming to you now asking you to help us just like Officer Friendly said that I could all those years ago.

Do what you can to stop the spilling of the blood of those of us of a darker hue.

Please!

Leave a Reply

